Collaborations, exhibits, New Goblinfruit Studio Stuff

A Book About Death

5x7_postcard_WP

Matthew Rose and the Emily Harvey Foundation Gallery  in Soho, NYC, have joined together to create the “A Book About Death” exhibit, opening September 10, 2009 and running through September 22, 2009. All artists (more artists are wanted, and anyone can contribute…see link below for submission guidelines.) must create 500 images (or cds, dvds, etc) based on the subject of death and send them to the Emily Harvey Foundation, who must receive them by September 5. These postcards, dvds or cds will effectively create an “unbound” book of death for exhibit goers.

I had quite a different vision in mind for this doll, but given that my costuming skills are limited at this point, I had to take his body in a totally different direction. Given that it’s not exactly what I wanted, I think he turned out well, with just the right amount of disturbing intensity permeating his little cloth bunny body and face. He’s created with wire armature, quilt batting, muslin fabric, paperclay for head, feet and hands, as well as wooden dowels for the neck stumps and a wee bit of mohair for their head curls. My boyfriend created the mirror (formerly an old, cloudy shaving mirror) and helped with the logistics of setting up walls in order to get the correct shot. The wallpaper is flocked paper found at Kate’s Paperie many months ago, just waiting to be used for the right occasion.

This was a fun shoot to do, and Steve was, as always, the consummate professional taking as much as time needed to get the shot just right.

To find out more about the exhibition, and/or to submit postcards, please go to: http://abookaboutdeath.blogspot.com/

Standard

7 thoughts on “A Book About Death

  1. PETER says:

    excellent work, if i may say
    thanks for letting me help, it was lots of fun, as per usual
    L!
    “the make it monkey” (FH+2F)

  2. I’m quite taken with the way you’ve envisioned an adorable, much-cuddled creature as a fratricidal maniac. And I think the way you’ve garbed the doll in his patchwork fashion is terrific. The clean elements in the face and the fractured, disconnected shape of his body add to the sort of schism of character you’re after.

    I love the height of the doll too. It’s a shame more of that didn’t come through in the image. There’s a certain towering leanness that seems unnatural and off-putting.

    This is a dark little faery tale you’ve worked up.

  3. Wow, this piece is stunning and the photograph is fantastic, I LOVE it! I’m very intrigued by dark art even though my own work is all sunshine and rainbows 🙂 Oh and thanks for adding my link to your doll artists list, it made my day to see my name in your space next to artists I have so much respect for

  4. simondrax says:

    Oh, I don’t think we’ve seen the last of this rabbit. Oh no. He’s going to kill again.

    And again.

    Great stuff! Seriously, this is just the tip of the iceberg. Maybe he was nervous for his first “shoot.”

Leave a Reply

